Санкт-Петербургский государственный университет



English Pages



St.Petersburg State University


The Physical Faculty is a community of top-level professionals in physics and related areas. Founded by outstanding scientists and lecturers, the faculty continues European tradition of universal education that makes our graduates not only specialists in a selected field, but also competent in all branches of natural science.

The Faculty was founded in 1933 on the basis of Physics Department organized in 1919 by D.S.Rojdestvensky. E. H. Lentz, O. D. Hvolson, A. N. Terenin, E. F. Gross, S. E. Frisch and V. I. Smirnov were its members. Three Nobel Prize laureates — N. N. Semenov, L. D. Landau and A. M. Prokhorov — have graduated from the Faculty.

The faculty is a research institution as well as educational; it incorporates huge research department, formerly Institute for Physics and Institute of Radiophysics. Most faculty lecturers work actively in their fields. This tradition results in creative integration of education and research work. Administration and contact information. Departments. Education and how to enter the Faculty. Partner Univesities. Location of the Faculty Campus in Petrodvorets and Vassilievsky Ostrov.

Location of the Faculty Campus in Petrodvorets and Vassilievsky Ostrov.

Ответственный за содержание: С. С. Смирнова, s.s.smirnova@spbu.ru