July 12, 2006


The Russian National team selected by POISK Centre wins bronze at the 19th International Young Physicists’ Tournament held in Bratislava, Slovakia (July5—12, 2006).

The Russian National team had received a third place certificate and a bronze medal at the 19th International Young Physicists Tournament, after a year-long selection and preparation at POISK Centre and an exciting victory at the selective Vserossiysky Turnir Yunykh Fizikov held in Moscow. 26 teams and more than 300 secondary school students from 24 countries have participated in the IYPT held in the capital of Slovakia, Bratislava.

The tasks for the Young Physicists Tournament are known in a year before the competition. The participants must perform independent research on 17 challenging problems and demonstrate a comprehensive theoretical and experimental solution. The participants have to defend their research projects in English, but also to make independent analysis of their competitors’ work.

POISK Centre expresses the gratitude to the professors and to the postgraduate and undergraduate students who have helped in preparation and training of the team: Dr. Robert Kolalis, Dr. Evgeny Denisov, Dr. Boris Borisov, Dr. Dmitry Lisachenko, Dr. Sergey Vlasenko, Dr. Alexey Pirozersky, Dmitry Martchenko, Pavel Ulyanov, Ivan Yamschikov, Arseny Lunyov and overall to Dr. Sergey Pivovarov (Akademicheskaya Gimnaziya).

The teams selected by POISK Centre are remaining leaders at the Russian Tournament since early 2000s and represent the country at IYPTs. The team was successful in Australia (2004), Switzerland (2005) and Slovakia (2006) and won bronze medals twice in 2004 and 2006.

Among five POISK Centre’s team members, three persons have successfully become students at the Department of Physics, Saint Petersburg State University.

Team members:

Team leaders:

The team starts further work. More information can be found on the web-pagesof POISK Centre.